Olmsted County logo-Go to homepage
County Departments
Homepage Departments

Firearms Permits

 

Permit to Carry Pistols in the State of Minnesota

Minnesota State Statute 624.714 relating to the Minnesota Citizen's Personal Protection Act allows qualified individuals to obtain a permit to carry a pistol in the state. 

Permit to Carry FAQ

You may need to download the free version of Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the below documents.

You may apply for a permit to carry a firearm by completing the Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application for a Permit to Carry a Pistol

Applications are also available at the Olmsted County Adult Detention Center.

You must submit applications in person at the Olmsted County Sheriff's Office Adult Detention Center located at 101 4th Street SE, Rochester, MN 

Office hours are Monday - Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Applicants must submit the following items when presenting at the Adult Detention Center with application(s):

  • Completed application form, signed and dated by the Applicant
  • Applicable fee (see fees below)
  • An accurate photocopy of a certificate, affidavit, or other document that is submitted as the Applicant's evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol that meets the requirements of Minnesota Statute 624.714
  • An accurate photocopy of the Applicant's current driver's license, state identification card, or the photo page of the Applicant's passport.
  • In addition to the other application materials, a person who is otherwise ineligible for a permit due to a criminal conviction, but who has obtained a pardon or expungement setting aside the conviction, sealing the conviction, or otherwise restoring applicable rights, must submit a copy of the relevant order.


Olmsted County Pistol Permit Fees    

New Application:

  • $100.00                                    
  • Required of all new applications or renewals not made within 30 days of the expiration date of the permit.

Renewal Application:

  • $75.00 fee
  • May be made no earlier than 90 days prior to the expiration date on the permit.
  • Current valid permits issued prior to 05/28/03 as long as they meet the criteria for renewal.

Late Fee Renewal:

  • $10.00 fee
  • Permit holder submits a renewal application after the expiration date of the permit but within 30 days of the expiration date.

Personal Data Change (address/name):

  • $10.00 fee
  • Must be submitted to the issuing Sheriff within 30 days.
  • Applicant must fill out new application form.
  • Applicants need only complete required personal data and sign where indicated.

Re-issue Due to Loss/Destruction:

  • $10.00 fee
  • Must be submitted to the issuing Sheriff within 30 days.
  • Applicant must fill out new application form.
  • Applicants need only complete required personal data and sign where indicated.
  • Must include a notarized statement that the permit card has been lost or destroyed.

Emergency Permit Issue:

  • No fee
  • Permit may be issued if the Sheriff determines that the applicant is in an emergency situation that may constitute an immediate risk to the safety of the applicant or someone residing in the applicant's household.
  • Application form must be submitted.
  • Affidavit describing the emergency situation must be submitted with application.
  • Permit is valid for 30 days and may not be renewed.
  • Permit may be revoked without a hearing.

The Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension will post a list, when available, of training instructors and/or courses that have been validated by the BCA Superintendent and the County Sheriffs as qualified pistol training pursuant to Minnesota State Statute 624.714.

If you are an instructor and wish to be included on the web site, please download and complete the application below and submit it to the BCA along with requested documentation to the address listed on the instructions.

Application for Business Organization or Government Entity Approval to Certify Firearms Instructors


 

Permit to Purchase or Transfer Firearms

Minnesota Statute 624.7131 places restrictions on firearm purchases and transfers. You may apply for a Permit to Purchase or Transfer a Firearm by completing the Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application/Receipt Permit to Purchase/Transfer and bringing it to the Olmsted County Sheriff's Office Adult Detention Center at 101 4th Street SE, Rochester, MN, Monday - Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Applications are also available at the Olmsted County Adult Detention Center.

There is no charge for this application process.

If you already possess a valid Permit to Carry MN Statute 624.7131 subd 9 constitutes a transferee permit and states:

  • Subd. 9. Permit to carry. A valid permit to carry issued pursuant to section 624.714 constitutes a transferee permit for the purposes of this section and section 624.7132.

Try our A-Z Guide
USA.gov
Minnesota North Star
Cities in Olmsted County
Digital Counties Survey 2010 Winner
Home | Privacy Policy and Disclaimer | HIPAA Notice of Privacy Practices | Contact Us
Olmsted County provides secure email boxes for members of the public to submit emails about confidential issues including, but not limited to, child and adult protection reports, criminal activity and public health concerns. Please use these secure email boxes for these types of issues. Olmsted County disclaims all liability for unauthorized use and dissemination of confidential information if members of the public submit emails about confidential issues using the regular unsecured county departmental email boxes.
Copyright © 2014 Olmsted County, Minnesota