Adult Foster Care

 
 

Adult foster homes are designed to serve individuals who need assistance due to developmental or physical disability, brain injury, mental health issues or concerns related to aging. Providers ensure that clients get needed assistance with activities of daily living and other supports to live as independently as possible in the community. Assistance may also be needed with personal care, independent living skills, medication administration and/or safeguarding cash resources.

  • We are always interested in talking with potential providers
  • Call if you or a loved one are seeking foster care
  • 507 328-6400 and ask to speak with the Adult Foster Care Social Worker

Provider Information: 

Required Training:

DHS (Department of Human Services) Online Training: 

Vulnerable Adult Mandated Reporting (22 KB PDF)

Participants Will:

  1. Know who is a mandated reporter
  2. Understand what constitutes maltreatment
  3. Know when and how to contact the Common Entry Point to make a vulnerable adult maltreatment report
  4. Understand the Vulnerable Adults Act

Details on the DHS website at: http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/agencywide/documents/pub/dhs16_156395.pdf

235D Provider requirement: Data Privacy Training


Adult Foster Care New Provider Orientation Register Online

Held at 2100 Campus Drive SE - 1st Floor Cascade Room - 9:30 AM to 4:00 PM on:

  • Tuesday, February 20, 2018
  • Tuesday, May 15, 2018
  • Wednesday, August 15, 2018
  • Friday, November 9, 2018

Adult Foster Care Support Groups Register Online
Held at 2100 Campus Drive SE - 1st Floor, Cascade Room (except where noted below) - 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM

  • Tuesday, January 9, 2018
  • Tuesday, February 13, 2018
  • Tuesday, March 13, 2018 (Silver Creek Room)
  • Tuesday, April 10, 2018
  • Tuesday, May 8, 2018
  • Tuesday, June 12, 2018
  • Tuesday, July 10, 2018
  • Tuesday, August 14, 2018
  • Tuesday, September 11, 2018
  • Tuesday, October 9, 2018 (Whitewater Room)
  • Tuesday, December 11, 2018 (Whitewater Room)