Olmsted County Ordinances & Plans


The Olmsted County Planning Department is responsible for the administration of zoning ordinances in Olmsted County and the following townships within Olmsted County:  Eyota, Marion, Oronoco, and Quincy. For information on how to obtain a zoning permit in these jurisdictions, please link to zoning permits.

All other townships within Olmsted County have adopted and are administering their own land use controls.  In these townships, permits may be issued by either a township zoning administrator or the Township Cooperative Planning Association (TCPA). Please refer to Township Information to determine which Administration to contact for permits and zoning information.


* These ordinances were updated to reflect changes in how a notice of violation, denial of request for exception/challenge and of a suspension or revocation of County license or permit issued may be appealed through the Olmsted County Enforcement and Appeals Ordinance.  Additional information relating to the Enforcement and Appeals Ordinance may be found on Olmsted County's Attorney's page.


Other Land Development Information

National Register of Historic Places in Olmsted County web site

The National Register of Historic Places is the Nation's official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archeological resources.