Olmsted County logo-Go to homepage
County Departments
Contact Us
Property Records and Licensing
151 4th St SE
Rochester, MN 55904
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Monday - Friday

Blind Disabled Homestead

Blind Disable Homestead(1b)blind and disabled sign logos

This special homestead classification provides a reduced class rate for homestead property of any person who qualifies as blind or as permanently and totally disabled. The Class 1b blind/disabled homestead is different than other homesteads because the qualification is specific to a person (and the disabling condition), rather than being predicated on the use of the property. As a result, 1b homestead classification follows the blind/disabled individual from one property to another. Class 1b is not an exemption from property taxes; it is a reduction in taxes.

When and How to Apply

You need to apply for this special homestead classification by October 1.


There are two ways to apply: in person, or by mail.

Applying in person

You can apply by visiting the Property Records & Licensing office on the first floor of the Government Center located at: 151 4 Street SE, Rochester, MN 55904

Applying by mail

You can apply by mail by completing the Application form and sending it along with the necessary documentation to the following address:
Property Records & Licensing 151 4 Street SE, Rochester, MN 55904

Blind Disabled Homestead Applications:


Digital Counties Survey 2010 Winner
Home | Privacy Policy and Disclaimer | HIPAA Notice of Privacy Practices | Contact Us
Olmsted County provides secure email boxes for members of the public to submit emails about confidential issues including, but not limited to, child and adult protection reports, criminal activity and public health concerns. Please use these secure email boxes for these types of issues. Olmsted County disclaims all liability for unauthorized use and dissemination of confidential information if members of the public submit emails about confidential issues using the regular unsecured county departmental email boxes.
Copyright © 2015 Olmsted County, Minnesota