Elected Officials


In Olmsted County, there are nine positions that citizens elect to serve. These elected officials are: the commissioners that serve on the County Board, the County Attorney, and the Sheriff. 

There are seven commissioners, each representing the residents in their own voter district. The County Board of Commissioners oversee county operations and address citizen concerns. When a commissioner is elected, they are elected to serve a 4 year term. When that term ends, the commissioner can run for re-election if they so desire.

The County Attorney and the County Sheriff are also elected to 4 year terms and can run for re-election when the term expires if they choose. Each of these elected officials acts as the director for his/her office, and are accountable to the residents of Olmsted County.

For questions about elected officials, please contact 328-6001.